Skip to main content

From the Archives: Books 45, 46, 47 and 48: The Starcatcher's Series

Books 45, 46, 47, and 48: Peter and the Starcatchers, Peter and the Shadow Thieves, Peter and the Secret of Rundoon, and Peter and the Sword of Mercy
Verdict: Fun, Easy Adventure Books!
Peter and the Starcatchers, Peter and the Shadow Thieves, Peter and the Secret of Rundoon, and Peter and the Sword of Mercy are a 4 book series that tells the story of how Peter Pan becomes Peter Pan. They are written by co-authors Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson. The books are funny, easy, fun adventures. They are written for the Independent Reader or Grade 3rd through 6th, but with Dave Barry humor, anyone will enjoy them.

Book 1, "Peter and the Starcatchers" is the story of how Peter Pan goes from orphan to flying boy. The Starcatchers are an ancient secret society whose job it is to find and return Starstuff to wherever it comes from. Starstuff is a magical substance that gives humans many different powers; most notably, the ability to fly and be ageless. Peter befriends a Starcatcher in training named Molly while on a ship, thus the adventure begins. By the end of this first book he has become the boy who never ages, can fly, has a fairy, and lives on an island.

Book 2, Peter and the Shadow Thieves, introduces the next two books' main foe, Shadow Thieves, who want to use the Starstuff to destroy earth and regain their power of darkness over the universe. As the adventure continues more pieces of the traditional Peter Pan are put into place. This book gives Peter the ability for his shadow to detach from himself, the introduction of George Darling, and the naming of Never Land.

Book 3, Peter and the Secret of Rundoon, continues with an adventure involving the Shadow Thieves and completes Peter's transformation. Peter learns his last name is Pan. He also acquires the Lost Boys, who never age alongside him. The Pirates are stranded on the island, with their ship. Really only a few pieces are missing to complete the traditional legend.

Book 4, Peter and the Sword of Mercy is entertaining but only okay. To be quite honest, Barry and Pearson should have stopped at book 3. The last book tied up the story and left the way clear for the classic tale of Peter Pan to occur. However with this book, which takes place 23 years later, that chance is ruined as Peter and Wendy go on an entirely new adventure. 

Overall I really enjoyed reading these books. They are well-written, funny, and great stories. More are to come and I am excited to read them. Read them yourself, or give them to a kid you know. They are worth it.


Popular posts from this blog

Book 154: "Poison or Protect" by Gail Carriger

Title: Poison or Protect
Author: Gail Carriger
Genre: Novella, Steampunk, fantasy
Publisher: Gail Carriger, LLC
Read in: Nook ePub

Have you noticed that I adore Gail Carriger and everything she writes? Not yet? Well, now you know. This is the first in a series of novellas that Carriger plans to write. As with all of her work thus far, I loved it.

This novella series will follow the Finishing School characters once they are adults. This first installment is a story about Preshea. I can't say too much, given the short nature of this story, without giving spoilers. But I loved learning more about a character that was in opposition to the main characters of Finishing School. (If you can deconstruct that sentence). Be forewarned... it's steamy! This was the perfect tide-over story to get me through until Imprudence released (review to come soon!) and I'm counting on the coming releases of more novellas to get me through the next two years until the next installment of The Custard P…

Book 165: "Xoe: Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, Oh My!" By Sara Roethle

Title: Xoe: Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, Oh my! (Xoe Myers #1)
Author: Sara Roethle
Read in: Kindle eBook
Genre: Urban Fantasy- Young Adult

This is not a great book. It is shallow, over-descriptive, and incredibly predictable.  There are grammar errors everywhere. It is pretty much what you would expect from the Twilight fanbase of authors that are still following Stephanie Meyers in angsty Urban Fantasy.

The more of these books I read (I keep picking them up hoping that one day I'll find a gem) the more I wonder if teenagers are really so stupidly trusting. Would they actually meet some hot guy in the woods and immediately believe he is on their side so much to the extent that they trust him to protect them, stay in their room, and basically turn into a controlling stalker- all in the name of "love"? This one started out differently- the protagonist actually really didn't trust the hot new stranger. And turned out to be right that he was dangerous and crazy. H…

Book 161: "Romancing the Inventor" By Gail Carriger

Title: Romancing the Inventor
Author: Gail Carriger
Genre: Steampunk Urban Fantasy Novella
Read In: Nook ePub

So, my fellow readers, I'm sure you know that this is a novella by Gail Carriger. If you've been following me long, you know that means I most likely adored it. You are correct. Carriger strikes again; she has yet to disappoint me with one of her pieces, novel, short story, or novella. This novella is a long-awaited story featuring Genevieve  Lefoux. Madam Lefoux is one of my favorite characters in The Parasol Protectorate and the Finishing School Series, so it is extra nice to get yet another glimpse of her later in life- after the Parasol Protectorate Series has ended. In fact, many of the beloved characters from The Parasol Protectorate make an appearance, including Alexia and Conall.

The protagonist of the story is a new character. This is a GBLTQ friendly story (obviously, since it focuses on Madame Lefoux). I liked this novella because I thought it much closer to he…