Skip to main content

From the Archives: Books 55, 56, and 57: The King Raven Trilogy by Stephen Lawhead

Books 55, 56, and 57: The King Raven Trilogy by Stephen Lawhead

Verdict: An interesting new take on Robin Hood

This trilogy is a new take on the Robin Hood legends. Set in the Medieval era in England, it tells the story of Bran ap Brychan fighting to regain his usurped kingdom and protect the now oppressed people of his realm. The trilogy is comprised of the books, Hood, Scarlet, and Tuck


Hood is the first book and is written mostly from the perspective of Bran. The storyline covers the orgins of Bran's tale: how his throne is usurped; how he becomes an outlaw; and his first attempts to have his throne returned. It introduces most of the characters that are well known in the legends, Marian, Tuck (Aethelfrith), and Little John (known as Iwan). There are also narratives from other characters, as well as third person narrative when speaking of the invaders activities; a format that continues throughout the series.

Book two, Scarlet, is written from Will Scarlet's Point of view. This is also his introduction to the series. This book covers more of the adventures of King Raven and his Grellon (followers who live with King Raven, a.k.a. Bran, in the wood). It also gives a different point of view to the storyline.

Book three, the conclusion, is titled Tuck. As you probably have figured out, this book is written from the point of view of Tuck. It covers the last stand of King Raven and his Grellon, and follows up with the characters in an epilogue.


I really enjoyed reading this series. Reading Robin Hood from this point of view was very interesting. I also appreciate that at the back of each book Lawhead included his research into writing the different aspects of the story he created. From reading the research along with the text, I can tell that Lawhead really did his research into the many different legends of Robin Hood and his followers. These books are well written and well worth the read. The only downside occurs when the books are covering backgrounds; they tend to be a little slow during these sections. However, the information is always needed. If you like historical fiction, I definitely recommend this series.


Popular posts from this blog

Book 154: "Poison or Protect" by Gail Carriger

Title: Poison or Protect
Author: Gail Carriger
Genre: Novella, Steampunk, fantasy
Publisher: Gail Carriger, LLC
Read in: Nook ePub

Have you noticed that I adore Gail Carriger and everything she writes? Not yet? Well, now you know. This is the first in a series of novellas that Carriger plans to write. As with all of her work thus far, I loved it.

This novella series will follow the Finishing School characters once they are adults. This first installment is a story about Preshea. I can't say too much, given the short nature of this story, without giving spoilers. But I loved learning more about a character that was in opposition to the main characters of Finishing School. (If you can deconstruct that sentence). Be forewarned... it's steamy! This was the perfect tide-over story to get me through until Imprudence released (review to come soon!) and I'm counting on the coming releases of more novellas to get me through the next two years until the next installment of The Custard P…

Book 165: "Xoe: Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, Oh My!" By Sara Roethle

Title: Xoe: Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, Oh my! (Xoe Myers #1)
Author: Sara Roethle
Read in: Kindle eBook
Genre: Urban Fantasy- Young Adult

This is not a great book. It is shallow, over-descriptive, and incredibly predictable.  There are grammar errors everywhere. It is pretty much what you would expect from the Twilight fanbase of authors that are still following Stephanie Meyers in angsty Urban Fantasy.

The more of these books I read (I keep picking them up hoping that one day I'll find a gem) the more I wonder if teenagers are really so stupidly trusting. Would they actually meet some hot guy in the woods and immediately believe he is on their side so much to the extent that they trust him to protect them, stay in their room, and basically turn into a controlling stalker- all in the name of "love"? This one started out differently- the protagonist actually really didn't trust the hot new stranger. And turned out to be right that he was dangerous and crazy. H…

Book 161: "Romancing the Inventor" By Gail Carriger

Title: Romancing the Inventor
Author: Gail Carriger
Genre: Steampunk Urban Fantasy Novella
Read In: Nook ePub

So, my fellow readers, I'm sure you know that this is a novella by Gail Carriger. If you've been following me long, you know that means I most likely adored it. You are correct. Carriger strikes again; she has yet to disappoint me with one of her pieces, novel, short story, or novella. This novella is a long-awaited story featuring Genevieve  Lefoux. Madam Lefoux is one of my favorite characters in The Parasol Protectorate and the Finishing School Series, so it is extra nice to get yet another glimpse of her later in life- after the Parasol Protectorate Series has ended. In fact, many of the beloved characters from The Parasol Protectorate make an appearance, including Alexia and Conall.

The protagonist of the story is a new character. This is a GBLTQ friendly story (obviously, since it focuses on Madame Lefoux). I liked this novella because I thought it much closer to he…